ATV Motocross

AMA Pro ATV Racers Recognized in Southern CA

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 | 10:45 AM
Morgantown, W.Va.‚  ”“The top 10 Pro Class finishers in the 2012 AMA ATV Motocross National Championship Series joined the likes of the top riders from the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, this past Sunday for the annual Season Celebration in Southern California.‚ 
South Coast Winery, located in Southern California's wine country of Temecula, was the setting for the festivities, as the industry gathered to celebrate not only the 10-round AMA ATV Motocross Championship, but also the three classes that make up the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series.
Wienen Motorsports/SSi Decals/Walsh Race Craft/Yamaha's Chad Wienen highlighted the ATV portion of the celebration, collecting his first-ever, as well as Factory Yamaha’s first-ever, AMA Pro ATVMX championship award, in addition to earning the distinguished Gary Denton Motocross Cup for his Wienen Motorsports team. After winning six of 10 rounds this season, Wienen also played an important role in helping Yamaha secure the 2012 Manufacturer’s Cup.
Other notable awards from the evening include the ATVMX Champion Mechanic Award, recognizing Wienen’s longtime mechanic Ryan Cox. Earlier in the evening, the AMA Pro ATV Rookie of the Year was awarded to Honda rider Mark Madl, who finished a respectable eighth place in the championship.
‚ ‚ 
Many other individuals and companies were recognized on Sunday, including Can-Am, whose commitment to the sport of ATV motocross has heightened exposure across the boards. Additionally, Amsoil, SSi Decals and DWT were recognized for their continued support of the championship series.
The ATV awards presented on Sunday evening included:
Gary Denton Motocross Cup:‚ Chad Wienen - Wienen Motorsports Yamaha
ATVMX Champion Mechanic: Ryan Cox - Wienen Motorsports Yamaha
ATV Manufacturer's Cup: Yamaha Motors Corporation
ATV Rookie of the Year: Mark Madl - Honda

About the AMA ATV Motocross Championship

The AMA ATV Motocross Championship is‚ the nation's premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, hosted at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 10-round series features the Nation's best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America's largest and‚ longest-running ATV national motocross program. Since 1985, the series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while premiering the professional class.‚  For more information, please visit‚