ATV Motocross

AMA announces nominees for 2008 AMA Sports and ATVA end-of-year awards

Thursday, November 6, 2008 | 12:00 AM

AMA Racing

News Release


Contact: Connie Fleming
Phone: (614) 856-1910, ext. 1258
[email protected]

AMA announces nominees for 2008 AMA Sports and ATVA end-of-year awards

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) is proud to announce the 2008 nominees for AMA Sports and All-Terrain Vehicle Association (ATVA) end-of-year awards. The winners of these special awards will be announced at the 2008 AMA Sports Awards Banquet on Saturday evening, Nov. 22, at the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum in Leeds, Ala.

These riders and representatives of the sport have gone "above and beyond" during the 2008 season and have earned an opportunity to stand among the very best in all the racing disciplines recognized by AMA Sports and the ATVA.

In addition, hundreds of champions will be honored at the AMA Sports Awards Banquet, held this year at the stunning Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum, which includes a collection of more than 1,200 historic and rare motorcycles, and is located on the grounds of the world-class Barber Motorsports Park road-race course.

Tickets to the AMA Sports Awards Banquet are $85 and can be purchased online at A downloadable registration form is also available. Printed orders can be faxed to: (614) 986-1962, Attn: Cyndi Freeze-Cain; or mailed to: AMA Racing, Attn: Cyndi Freeze-Cain, 13515 Yarmouth Drive, Pickerington, OH 43147.

AMA Sports and ATVA Award Nominees

ATVA Athlete of the Year Nominees
Bill Ballance, Smiths Grove, Ky. - GNCC
Michael Coburn, Garretson, S.D. - Extreme ATVA Dirt Track
Cody Gibson, Englewood, Tenn. - ATV Motocross
Harold Goodman, Romulus, Mich. - Extreme ATVA Dirt Track

ATVA Amateur Rider of the Year Nominees
Thomas Brown, Sanger, Texas - ATV Motocross
Jordan Gallagher, Fenwick, Mich. - ATV Motocross
Casey McKibben, Avon Park, Fla. - Extreme ATVA Dirt Track
Donald Ockerman, Marshall, Ill. - GNCC

ATVA Vet/Senior Rider of the Year Nominees
Brian Jenkins, Warren, Ohio - ATV Motocross
Ken Marcou, Millston, Wis. - Extreme ATVA Dirt Track
Thomas Wright, Tabernacle, N.J. - GNCC

ATVA Female Rider of the Year Nominees
Heather Byrd, Union City, Tenn. - ATV Motocross
Traci Cecco, Shamokin, Pa. - GNCC
Paula Shank, Petersburg, Va. - Extreme ATVA Dirt Track

ATVA Youth Rider of the Year Nominees
Walker Fowler, Rogers, Ohio - GNCC
Lake Kuba, Charlotte, Mich. - Extreme ATVA Dirt Track
Jeffrey Rastrelli, Palm City, Fla. - ATV Motocross
Jesse Skvarek, Jefferson, Ohio - ATV Motocross

ATVA Organizer of the Year Nominees
Ozark MT ATV Raceway
Pleasure Valley Raceway
Racer Productions
Red Bud Recreation Inc.
Victory Sports

AMA Sports Athlete of the Year Nominees
Ricky Dietrich, Menifee, Calif. - ISDE
Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa. - Motocross
PJ Larsen, Stanley, N.C. - Motocross
Jason Raines, Belfair, Wash. - Hare Scrambles
Stephen Vanderkuur, Davison, Mich. - Ice Race, Flat Track

AMA Sports Vet/Senior Rider of the Year Nominees
Doug Dubach, Tustin, Calif. - Motocross
Rex Fisher, Warren, Ore. - Flat Track
Jeff Fredette, Beecher, Ill. - ISDE

AMA Sports Female Rider of the Year Nominees
Ashley Fiolek, Saint Augustine, Fla. - Motocross
Amanda Mastin, Whitehouse, Ohio - Enduro, ISDE
Leslie Porterfield, Dallas, Texas - Land Speed Racing

AMA Sports Youth Rider of the Year Nominees
JR Addison, Bucyrus, Ohio - Flat Track
Anson Maloney, Cedar Ridge, Calif. - Hare Scrambles
Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga. - Motocross
Clint Shobert, Wolfforth, Texas - Road Race

AMA Sports Journalist of the Year Nominees
Dick Lague
Mark Kariya
Shan Moore

AMA Sports Motocross Organizer of the Year Nominees
Freestone County Raceway
MX Sports
Unlimited Sports MX Inc..
Victory Sports

AMA Sports Off-Road Organizer of the Year Nominees
NEPG (National Enduro Promotions Group)
Pro-Motion Motorsports LLC
Racer Productions

AMA Sports Track Racing Organizer of the Year Nominees
Belleville Enduro Team Inc.
Du Quoin State Fairgrounds
Pioneer MC

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Since 1924, the AMA has promoted and protected the motorcycling lifestyle. AMA members come from all walks of life and they navigate many different roads on their journey to the same destination: freedom on two wheels. As the world's largest motorcycle organization with nearly 300,000 members, the AMA advocates for motorcyclists' interests in the halls of local, state and federal government, the committees of international governing organizations and the court of public opinion. Through member clubs, promoters and partners, the AMA sanctions more motorsports competition events than any other organization in the world. Through its Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, the AMA preserves the heritage of motorcycling for future generations. For more information, visit