ATV Motocross

ATVMX Pro series kicks off this weekend

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 | 2:30 PM

Contact: Danica Boehm

ATV Motocross


[email protected]

For Immediate Release

2013 Mtn. Dew ATVMX Pro National Series opener this Weekend

Aonia Pass to host Round 1 on March 23 & 24

Morgantown, W.Va. (March 19, 2013) —“ Defending ATVMX champion Chad Wienen will wear the coveted number one plate for the first time ever heading into the 2013 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship, sanctioned by AMA, season opener this weekend. Wienen Motorsports/SSi/Walsh/Yamaha presented by Maxxis Tires and Team Vollmer’s Wienen will be up against the fastest four-wheeled ATV Motocross racers in the world this Saturday, March 23, at Aonia Pass MX Park in Washington, Ga.

The 2013 ATVMX Pro lineup boasts one of the most stacked fields in recent history with 24 riders expected to line up at the opening round of racing. With several veteran riders, past champions and new riders making their debut into the pro class, the chase for the 2013 championship title will be one to follow. Two-time champ and ATVMX veteran John Natalie contested Wienen for the championship in 2012 but was left short and finished second overall in the points chase. This season Natalie will be riding a machine and looking to reclaim that number one plate.

Twenty-year-old Joel Hetrick is still one of the youngest championship contenders in the class but Hetrick finished a solid third overall in 2012. After a few years under his belt in the pro ranks, Hetrick has gained valuable experience in the field and is expected to once again contest the championship this season. Hetrick will compete aboard a Honda machine this season, making the moveƒ‚  his 2012 Factory Can-Am ride.

Baldwin Motorsports/PEP/Upperman Racing’s Josh Upperman who finished fourth in 2012, is one of the most consistent riders on the circuit and looks to continue the trend this season.

Thomas Brown, the fifth place finisher last season, will be riding under the Wienen Motorsports/SSi/Walsh/Yamaha presented by Maxxis Tires and Team Vollmer tent this season. The Texas native will once again be a threat to win races each weekend.

Returning to the ATVMX National Series full-time for the first time in three years, 2010 champion Josh Creamer will contest the championship chase this season as well. Creamer will be making his return to the series aboard his BCS/Can-Am team.

There will be several rookies to watch this year, among them will be long-time Pro-Am championship contender Casey Martin and RootRiver Racing’s Sean Taylor.

The pro riders will run Saturday as part of a full schedule of amateur racing, including classes for Youth, Women and Veteran riders. Amateurs will practice on Friday and race on Saturday and Sunday, while Pro practice at 9 a.m. and 10 a.m. and races will be held at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m.

To get to the track from Atlanta, take I-20 East to Exit 160 (Hwy 223 Norwood Exit). Go left and travel on Hwy 223 until it dead-ends with Hwy 78. Turn right on Hwy 78. The venue is 2.5 miles down on your right (look for the big Aonia Pass Motoplex sign). For more information, please visit

About the Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship

The Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship, sanctioned by AMA, is the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, hosted at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 10-round series features the Nation’s best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America’s largest and longest-running ATV national motocross program. Since 1985, the series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while premiering the professional class. For more information, please visit