ATV Motocross

Wimmer Qualifies First at Unadilla

Sunday, June 8, 2008 | 12:00 AM

CONTACT: Justin Anderson


Wimmer Scorches in New York Heat, Qualifies First at Unadilla

UNADILLA, N.Y. (June 7, 2008) -- Through hot and humid conditions, Dustin Wimmer kept his cool and earned the top qualifying spot Saturday for tomorrow's Can-Am Northeastern ATV National Presented by Renegade at Unadilla MX. The event is Round 7 of the ITP Tires/Moose Racing AMA/ATVA National Motocross Championship.

Wimmer (No. 191 Team MSR/Suzuki/Yoshimura/Pro Taper Suzuki) turned in the top time of one minute, 56.669 seconds in the final qualifying session, ahead of rising star Richard Pelchat (No. 46 RP Evolution Can-Am) and Jeremy Lawson (No. 16 Team Epic Can-Am).

"I just went out, checked out how the track changed from the first practice and, once I got my bearings, I was ready for it," said Wimmer. "I like this track a lot and feel pretty good here. I'm fast on the uphill prior to the finish line and I like that section a lot. I'm looking forward to tomorrow."

With 30 Pro Riders entered, Josh Upperman dominated the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ) to make the show on the No. 20 American Honda/Baldwin Motorsports Honda. Also qualifying through the LCQ were teammates Russell Shumaker (No. 68 Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Keith Little (No. 12 Monster Energy Kawasaki). Joe Haavisto (No. 75 Kawasaki) earned the final transfer spot after returning to National competition from New England regional racing.

John Ragon, Trent Kandel, Michael Brown, Brock Lyons, Rich Stambach, Christoper Tait, Hunter Miller, Steve Runkel, Brian Ace and Thomas Hager didn't qualify.

The Can-Am Northeastern ATV National Presented by Renegade continues tomorrow with Pro finals scheduled at noon and at 3 p.m., as well as a full program of Pro-Am, Amateur, Youth, and Women's racing.

Dustin Wimmer took the top qualifying award Saturday at Unadilla MX.

About the ITP/Moose Racing AMA/ATVA ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited
The AMA ITP/Moose Racing ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited is the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, and competes at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 11-round series features the Nation's best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America’s largest and longest-running ATV National Motocross series with more than 20 years of competition. The series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while keeping close to the grassroots fun that makes people love to go to the races.

Series sponsors include title sponsors ITP Tires and Moose Racing, and presenting sponsor Parts Unlimited. Premiere and Feature sponsors include Can Am, Amsoil, ATV Sport Magazine, Quad Magazine, Moto Tees, Maxxis Tires, and FMF. Associate sponsors include Fox Shox, Gatorade, HinsonRacing, Custom Axis, and H-Bomb. Media partners include ATV Insider and For more information, please visit