ATV Motocross

Six ATVA Motocross Champions Saluted at AMA Banquet

Wednesday, November 21, 2007 | 12:00 AM

LAS VEGAS -- Six ITP/Moose Racing ATVA National Motocross Champions were honored at the Annual AMA Sports Award Banquet Friday night at the Rio All Suite Hotel and Casino. Angela Butler, Chad Raymond, Clay Holmes, Matt Shapaka, Jeffrey Rastrelli and Tommy Tantillo were awarded their respective titles at the event.

Butler was named ATVA Female Rider of the Year, recognizing her victory in the title chase, which came down to the final round of the season, over Heather Byrd.


Rastrelli, who clinched the 90 modified (8-10) title, was also crowned the ATVA Youth Rider of the Year, edging out Walker Fowler (GNCC) and Kacee Frazier (Dirt Track).

Tantillo captured his second ATVA Vet/Senior Rider of the Year award. Tantillo won championships in both Open A and the 40+ classes this season.

This season marked a pivotal year for ATV racing, as ATVA moved the pro class to AMA Pro Racing, issuing pro licenses for the first time in history. In addition, for the first time ever, the ITP/Moose Racing National Motocross Champion, Joe Byrd, was recognized as part of the AMA Pro Racing banquet Sunday night. 

The 11-round 2008 ITP/Moose Racing AMA Pro ATV Motocross season kicks off March 9th at Glen Helen Raceway in San Bernardino, CA. The 10-round 2008 ATVA motocross series starts March 29 & 30th at Mill Creek Raceway in Pell City, AL.  For more information about AMA Pro ATV and ATVA Motocross, visit

Tommy “¬ďTasmanian” Tantillo receiving his honors

About the ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series

Presented by Parts Unlimited

The AMA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited is the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, and competes at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 12-round series features the Nation's best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America’s largest and longest-running ATV National Motocross series with more than 20 years of competition. The series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while keeping close to the grassroots fun that makes people love to go to the races. Series sponsors include title sponsors ITP Tires and Moose, and presenting sponsor Parts Unlimited.  Premiere and Feature sponsors include ATV Sport, Moto Tees, Scott USA, Maxxis Tires, Elka Suspension and H-Bomb Films/Division Four.  Associate sponsors include Weekend Warrior Trailers, Denton Racing, and Hinson Racing.  Media partners include ATV Insider, ATV Rider and  For more information, please visit

About the ATV Association (ATVA)

The ATV Association (“¬ďATVA” ) is the official sanctioning body of the amateur division of the ATVA ITP/Moose ATV National Motocross Championship Series Presented by Parts Unlimited. The 9,000-member ATVA is a sister organization of the 260,000 member American Motorcyclist Association (AMA). ATV racing has experienced phenomenal growth at the rate of 25% in the past two years, and continues to gain momentum and support, outselling off-road motorcycles annually. Each ATVA round attracts hundreds of racers who compete for bragging rights to one of 31 amateur national titles. For more information, please visit